Marnie Tate is our 2010 Woman of the Year!  

Marnie has been a member of the ABWA Emerald Coast Chamber since 1984.  She has served as President, President-Elect, Vice President, Programs Committee Chair and chaired several other committees.

Marnie's ABWA achievements include being selected as the Business Associate of the Year, earned the Sapphire Star Award from ABWA National for sponsoring 33 new members.

Marnie was inducted into the Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame for spearheading the 911 Emergency Telephone System in the county.  She was the first female President of the Fort Walton Beach Chamber of Commerce.

Professionally, Marnie has been a Financial Representative for Northwestern Mutual Financial Network for 29 years. She severed as their first female National President and earned numerous professional designations within the company. She has given motivational speeches within the company and to various other corporation.

Marnie serves the local community in various leadership positions including United Way, Fort Walton Beach Medical Center and Bridgeway.

Marnie's mission is to have a positive impact on and make a difference in the lives of her family, friends and clients.  She has been married 28 years and has 3 children.  She enjoys yoga, reading and gardening. 


Past ABWA Emerald Coast Chapter Woman of the Year

2009—Lisa Jo Spencer
2008—Pam White
2007—Tammy Magee
2006—Tammy McDaniel
2005—Sherry Kennedy
2004—Bev Bain
2003—Sherry Marcolongo
2002—Beverly Rasmussen
2001—Darlene Dean
2000—Gayle Carmichael
1999—Shirley Young
1998—Kay Renfrow
1997—Kathi Heapy
1996—Becky Belcher
1995—Shareen Ketchem
1994—Cathy Wehling
1993—Judy Elgin
1992—Carol Evans
1991—Joan Simmons
1990—Jeanne Rief
1989—Debbie Salmon
1988—Pat Gross
1987—Patti Baker
1986—Gisela Harford
1985—Dorothy Farland
1984—Judy Wurstner
Past Woman of the Year Pictured (L to R - Back Row) Back Row- Lisa Spencer 2009, Carol Evans 1992, Shareen Ketchem 1995, Tammy McDaniel 2006, Dorothy Farland 1985, Gayle Carmichael 2000, Darlene Dean 2001, Judy Elgin 1993, Pam White 2008, Jeanne Rief 1990

Front-  Sherry Kennedy 2005, Sherry Marcolongo 2003, Tammy Magee 2007, Marnie Tate 2010, Bev Bain 2004, Becky Belcher 1996, Shirley Young 1999, Kathi Heapy

Photos by Nivaska Eastwold - Linck Photography and Design

American Business Women's Association
Emerald Coast Chapter #1579
P.O. Box 731 
Fort Walton Beach, FL  32549